« Go Back

August 19, 2013

LITTLE ROCK – Attorney General Dustin McDaniel announced today that the Crime Victims Reparations Board awarded $317,371.10 to victims of crime in Arkansas in July. Awards were made in 186 new cases. Additional expenses were paid in 17 previously submitted cases.

The Crime Victims Reparations Board awards compensation to victims of violent crime to help in payment of unexpected expenses associated with the crime, such as medical treatment or mental-health counseling. Reparations are also available to cover replacement services, lost wages or other costs.

The Attorney General’s Office administers the state’s Crime Victims Reparations Program.

Last year, a total of $3,930,971.02 in reparations were awarded to victims of violent crime.

The Crime Victims Reparations Board determines which claims are eligible for payment and how much money will be awarded to each claimant. Most awards are limited to $10,000 or less, though the maximum award can be as high as $25,000 for crime victims who suffer catastrophic injuries.

Members of the Crime Victims Reparations Board are Dr. Janice Church, Bryce Brewer and Alex Finger, all of Little Rock, Colleen Nick of Alma and Louis Jones of Fayetteville.

The Crime Victims Reparations Program was established by the General Assembly in 1987. The program is funded by court costs, fees and fines imposed on convicted criminals. 

For more information about the program, call the Crime Victims Hotline at (800) 448-3014 or visit the Attorney General’s website, www.ArkansasAG.gov.