Crime Victims Reparations
Victims of violent crime in Arkansas may receive compensation and assistance from the Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Program. The program was created by the General Assembly and is primarily funded by fees collected from criminal offenders and a federal grant through the Victims Crime Act, administred by the U.S Department of Justice.
The program provides a method of compensating and assisting victims and their dependents who have suffered personal injury or death as a result of violent crimes, including DWIs committed in Arkansas. Claimants may request compensation for medical care, counseling, lost wages, replacement services, funeral expenses, loss of support and crime-scene cleanup. Eligible victims may be awarded reparations regardless of whether there has been an arrest or conviction related to the crime.
Victims may apply for compensation by submitting an application to the Attorney General’s Office. Applications are available from the Attorney General’s Office or from Arkansas’s 28 elected prosecutors. Additionally, applications can be downloaded below. Last year the Crime Victims Reparations Program provided assistance to nearly 2,700 victims and more than 1,600 sexual assault survivors with ambulance services and medical exams.
Eligibility: violent crime victim; minor child of an eligible victim; spouse, parents, siblings and grandparents of certain victims; non-immediate family membres who resided, at the time of the crime, in the same permanent household as a deceased victim; individuals who discover the body of a homicide victim; person injured by an act of terrorism outside the United States; Arkansas residents victimized in another state that has no compensation program.
Criteria: incident occurred in Arkansas on or after July 1, 1988; application filed within one year of incident; incident reported to proper authorities within 72 hours (minors excluded); victim suffered personal injury or death as a result of a criminal act; victim/claimant cooperated with the investigation and/or prosecution; victim's expenses not covered by a collateral source; victim/claimant does not have a felony conviction; victim's conduct did not contribute to incident.
Sexual Assault Reimbursement
The sexual assault reimbursement program allows evidence to be collected after an alleged sexual assault has been committed without the victim bearing the burden of the expense. It pays for ambulance services and medical or legal examinations, but it does not attempt to prove or disprove the allegation of sexual assault. Treatment must be sought within 72 hours of the assault (minors excluded), and the victim must not be covered by any federal benefits, such as Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid. Reimbursement requires medical facilities to complete the reimbursement form and submit it along with an itemized statement to the Attorney General's Office.
Board and Staff Information
The program’s administrative staff at the Attorney General’s Office is responsible for conducting investigations on all submitted claims. Following that, the Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board determines which claims are to be paid and how much may be awarded. Claims are limited to $10,000 or $25,000 in the case of catastrophic injury.
The Crime Victims Reparations Board is a five-member body appointed by the governor. Current members of the board are Dr. Janice Church of Little Rock, Colleen Nick of Alma, Louis Jones of Fayetteville, Bryce Brewer of Little Rock and Alex Finger of Little Rock.
In 2014, victims of violent crime were awarded $3,449,212 by the board.
A representative of the Attorney General’s Office is available for speaking engagements on the compensation program at no cost to law enforcement, service providers or victim advocacy groups.
Upcoming Meetings of the Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board
November 19, 2015
Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Program
Arkansas Attorney General’s Office
323 Center Street, Suite 200
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201