Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Program
The Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Program, administered by the Office of the Attorney General on behalf of the Crime Victims Reparations Board, provides financial compensation to victims who have suffered personal injury or death as the result of violent crime.
Eligible victims may qualify for up to $10,000 for medical care, counseling, lost wages, funeral expenses, crime scene clean up and loss of support for dependents of deceased victims. Victims suffering catastrophic injuries may qualify for up to $25,000. Eligible victims may be awarded reparations regardless of whether there has been an arrest or conviction related to the crime.
Additionally, the Sexual Assault Reimbursement Program allows evidence to be collected after a sexual assault has been committed without the victim bearing the burden of the expense, and it pays for ambulance services and medical or legal examinations.
Victims may apply for compensation by submitting an application to the Attorney General’s office. Applications are available from the Attorney General’s office or from Arkansas’s 28 elected prosecutors. Additionally, applications can be downloaded below.
These programs are funded by fees collected from criminal offenders and a federal grant through the Victims of Crime Act, administered by the U.S. Department of Justice.
- Victim of a violent crime
- Minor child of eligible victim
- Spouse, parent, sibling and grandparent of eligible victim
- Non-immediate family member who resided in the same household as a deceased victim
- Individual who discovers a homicide victim's body
- Person injured by an act of terrorism outside the United States
- An Arkansas resident victimized in another State that does not have a compensation program
Criteria to Receive Compensation:
- Incident occurred since July 1, 1988, in Arkansas and reported to authorities within 72 hours (minors excluded)
- Application filed within one year of incident
- Injury or death as a result of a criminal act
- Victim or claimant does not have a criminally injurious felony conviction
- Victim's conduct did not contribute to the incident
- Victim did not engage in illegal activity
- Victim was not incarcerated at time of the incident
- Injuries from motor vehicle use must involve intent to inflict harm, hit and run or violate Omnibus DWI Act
Know Your Rights as a Victim
Crime victims have the right to:
- Be present at any proceeding where the defendant has a right to be present
- Submit victim impact statements
- Basic privacy
- Be informed
Ensure your rights are protected by:
- Designating someone to receive information about the criminal matter
- Informing the proper authorities of your representative's name and contact information
- Maintaining all related written correspondence
- Cooperating with the prosecution
The program’s administrative staff at the Attorney General’s office is responsible for conducting investigations on all submitted claims. The Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board then determines which claims are to be paid and how much may be awarded. Claims are limited to $10,000 or $25,000 in the case of catastrophic injury.
The Crime Victims Reparations Board is a five-member body appointed by the governor. Current members of the board are Dr. Janice Church of Little Rock, Colleen Nick of Alma, Louis Jones of Fayetteville, Bryce Brewer of Little Rock and Alex Finger of Little Rock.
In 2016, nearly 2,000 victims of violent crime were awarded nearly $3 million by the board.
A representative of the Attorney General’s office is available for speaking engagements on the compensation program at no cost to law enforcement, service providers or victim advocacy groups.
2017 Board Meetings
First Quarter: January 19, February 15 and March 16
Second Quarter: April 19, May 18 and June 21
Third Quarter: July 20, August 16 and September 21
Fourth Quarter: October 18, November 16 and December 20
The Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board awards the Crime Victim Advocate of the Year Award annually during National Crime Victims’ Rights Week.
For questions, email oag@ArkansasAG.gov or call 501-682-1020.