Attorney General Alert: Don’t Let a Lemon Leave A Sour Taste

LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge is reminding Arkansans the benefits of the Arkansas Lemon Law and how it provides a safety net for some buyers whose vehicles have recurring problems. A motor vehicle less than two years old, or with less than 24,000 miles, is covered under the Arkansas Lemon Law. Any recurring problem, including defects that impair the use, value or safety of the vehicle, could trigger this protection. Generally, when a new vehicle experiences the same issue or defect after a specified number of repair attempts, Arkansas consumers may have the right to a refund or replacement of the vehicle through the Lemon Law dispute resolution process.

“Buying a new car is one of the biggest purchases a person makes and it is important the vehicle is not a dud,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “It is important to know about our Lemon Law and how to file a claim, even without hiring an attorney. My office publishes ‘A Consumer’s Guide to the Arkansas Lemon Law’ to help Arkansans who believe they may have purchased a lemon.”

Any consumer who buys, leases or licenses a new motor vehicle in the State of Arkansas is covered by the Lemon Law during the term of the manufacturer’s warranty for up to two years after the original delivery date of the vehicle, or for the first 24,000 miles, whichever is longer. If the vehicle is transferred to someone else during this period, that owner or person leasing the vehicle is also covered under the Lemon Law.

The Attorney General offered the following tips to consumers who notice nonconformities after purchasing a new vehicle:

  • Read “A Consumer’s Guide to the Arkansas Lemon Law” that the car dealer provides at the time of purchase. If you need a second copy, you can obtain one from the Attorney General’s Office or by clicking here.
  • Follow the steps outlined in the Consumer Guide to report problems to the dealer or manufacturer immediately and take your vehicle to the dealer for evaluation.
  • Keep repair receipts and a complete record of contacts with the dealer and manufacturer and visits to repair shops.
  • Use the form letters in the Consumer Guide to send a “demand letter” to the manufacturer, along with a copy to the Independent Dispute Settlement Program.
  • The Arkansas Lemon Law does not cover mopeds, motorcycles, the living quarters of motor homes or most vehicles weighing more than 14,000 pounds. The law also does not cover vehicles that have been substantially altered after its initial sale from the dealer.

For more information on consumer-related topics, visit, email, or call the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Hotline at (800) 482-8982.

323 Center Street, Suite 200

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

©2021 Arkansas Attorney General | Privacy Policy