News/Events

Consumer Alerts

CONSUMER ALERT: Scammers Still Scaring Arkansans with IRS Con

CONSUMER ALERT: Scammers Still Scaring Arkansans with IRS Con

Wed, Nov 22, 2017

LITTLE ROCK – Scam artists are back to scaring Arkansans into believing the IRS is sending law enforcement to track them down. But this time the criminals are making more specific threats of suspending business or driver’s license, according to the IRS.

“The IRS is never going to call you demanding immediate payment on back taxes,” said Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “These scam artists often spoof the caller ID to make it look as though the IRS is calling, and even sound like an authentic IRS agent. But rather than making unsolicited phone calls, the IRS will mail multiple notices and never ask for personal or financial information.”

The IRS recently reminded consumers how they can easily recognize scammers who call. Consumers should know the IRS will not do the following:

  • Call demanding immediate payment. The IRS will not call if you owe taxes without first sending you a bill in the mail.
  • Demand that taxes are paid without providing the individual the opportunity to question or appeal the amount owed.
  • Require a payment of taxes a certain way. For example, demanding a payment with a prepaid debit card.
  • Ask consumers for a credit or debit card numbers over the phone.
  • Threaten to bring in police or other agencies to arrest you for not paying.

The IRS strongly recommends Arkansans who receive these threatening calls not give out any personal information and hang up immediately, contact the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration at (800) 366-4484 to report the call and file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. The agency also requests that any scam emails be forwarded to phishing@irs.gov.

The IRS encourages Arkansans with any questions about owed taxes to contact their office directly at (800) 829-1040.

For more information about other common scams and consumer-related issues, call the Arkansas Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.

MORE
CONSUMER ALERT: Online Shopping Safety

CONSUMER ALERT: Online Shopping Safety

Wed, Nov 15, 2017

LITTLE ROCK – Identity thieves and other con artists do not take time off during the holidays. In fact, these criminals often ramp up their schemes to target Arkansans during holiday shopping. Many of us are making more purchases than normal, especially online, which means there are more credit and debit card transactions to track.

According to the National Retail Federation, 59 percent of consumers cited online shopping as the most popular shopping destination this year. They also expect holiday sales to increase nearly 4 percent over last year. That means consumers are expected to spend an average of $967.13 this year on gifts.

“Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals mean Arkansans will be shopping more,” said Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “Most of us save all year for the holiday season and we should remember to be cautious to ensure online shopping experiences are positive and safe.”

Attorney General Rutledge released the following tips to help keep consumers safe while shopping online:

  • Look for the “lock” icon on the browser’s status bar, and the phrase “https” in the URL to be sure information is secure to help guard the security of your information as it is transmitted to a website. Be sure your browser has the most up-to-date encryption capabilities by using the latest version available from the manufacturer.
  • Check the online merchant’s privacy policy before providing any personal financial information and determine how the information will be used or shared with others. Some websites’ disclosures are easier to find than others — look at the bottom of the home page, on order forms or in the “About” or “FAQs” sections of a site.
  • Read and understand refund and shipping policies before you make your purchase.
  • Pay by credit card, which is the most secure payment method. Under federal law, charges can be disputed and consumer liability for theft is limited so long as consumers promptly notify the bank or credit card issuer. Additionally, many credit card issuers have “zero liability” policies under which the purchaser pays nothing if their credit card is stolen and used to make unauthorized purchases.
  • Keep personal information private. Do not disclose personal information – address, telephone number, Social Security number, bank account number or email address – unless you know who is collecting the information, why they are collecting it and how they will use it.
  • Be cautious when buying gifts from an online auction. Understand how the auction works and check out the seller’s reputation before bidding. Always ask about terms of delivery and return options. Never wire money for the purchase; use some other form of payment.
  • Keep records of online transactions and check for emails from merchants while doing business. Merchants may email important information about purchases.
  • Promptly and thoroughly review monthly credit card and bank statements for any errors or unauthorized purchases. Notify the credit or debit card issuer immediately if a card or checkbook is lost or stolen or if you suspect someone is using your accounts without your permission.

Also, research companies before finalizing the online purchase to ensure it is a credible merchant, and check the anticipated delivery date to make sure it will be delivered in time for the holidays.

For more information about consumer-related issues, contact the Arkansas Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or consumer@ArkansasAG.gov or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.

MORE
CONSUMER ALERT: Debt Relief Scams

CONSUMER ALERT: Debt Relief Scams

Wed, Nov 8, 2017

LITTLE ROCK – There is no “quick” and “easy” way to eliminate debt and those that say it can be done are scams. Debt is a crippling crisis for some people across the Natural State. Whether it is credit card debt, student loan debt or outstanding medical bills, Arkansans want to find a way out.

“It is possible to get out of debt and there are many programs which offer assistance,” said Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “But there is no easy answer. Getting out of debt takes a lot of hard work and sacrifice and any organization that promotes an easy process is likely a scam and Arkansans should avoid falling for their tricks, which are likely to only create additional financial woes.”

Attorney General Rutledge released the following list of red flags that could signal an unscrupulous entity:

· Charges any more than a nominal fee before it settles your debts.

· Pressures you to make “voluntary contributions.” That is just another name for fees.

· Touts a “new government program” to bail out personal credit card debt.

· Guarantees it can make your unsecured debt go away.

· Tells you to stop communicating with your creditors.

· Tells you it can stop all debt collection calls and lawsuits.

· Promises that your unsecured debts can be paid off for just pennies on the dollar.

· Refuses to send you free information about the services it provides unless you provide personal financial information, such as credit card numbers and balances.

· Tries to enroll you in a debt relief program without spending time reviewing your financial situation.

· Offers to enroll you in a debt relief program that does not include budgeting and money-management skills training.

· Demands that you make payments into a debt relief program before your creditors have accepted you into the program.

There are many legitimate programs and strategies for dealing with difficult financial circumstances. For more information about consumer-related issues, contact the Arkansas Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or consumer@ArkansasAG.gov or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.

MORE
Lemon Law Sweet Not Sour

CONSUMER ALERT: Lemon Law Sweet Not Sour

Wed, Nov 1, 2017

LITTLE ROCK -- Consumers may have an issue with their new car and take it to the dealership for repairs, but on occasion the problem persists. Any recurring problem, including defects that impair the use, value or safety of the vehicle could deem the vehicle a lemon. Consumers have the right to request a refund or replacement of the vehicle through the Lemon Law dispute resolution process.

Arkansas’s Lemon Law provides some security to the often unpredictable vehicle retail world. The vehicle’s Quality Assurance Period extends for two years from the date of original delivery or the first 24,000 miles of operation, whichever is longer.

“Arkansas’s Lemon Law guarantees protection for a potentially unreliable vehicle,” says Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “The process to file a claim requires several important steps and can be done by the consumer. My office has also updated ‘A Consumer’s Guide to the Arkansas Lemon Law’ which is available on our website.”

The Attorney General offered the following tips to consumers who notice issues after purchasing a new vehicle:

Arkansas’s Lemon Law does not cover mopeds, motorcycles, the living quarters of motor homes or most vehicles weighing more than 13,000 pounds. The law also does not cover vehicles that have been substantially altered after its initial sale from the dealer.

For more information and tips to avoid scams and other consumer-related issues, contact the Arkansas Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or consumer@arkansasag.gov or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.

MORE
Avoiding Halloween Scares

Avoiding Halloween Scares

Wed, Oct 25, 2017

LITTLE ROCK - Clowns and ghosts are not the only things you and your family need to beware of this Halloween. Many Arkansans enjoy the fun and festivities, including trick-or-treating, but people often forget important tips to keep their children and night scare free.

“Children wait all year for the day they get to dress up in their favorite costume and stock up on candy,” said Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “Halloween should be a fun and exciting night for everyone, but adults should also remember to take the necessary steps to keep children safe.”

Attorney General Rutledge released the following tips to parents to avoid unexpected and unnecessary Halloween scares:

  • Select flame-resistant materials, masks, beards and wigs and try to avoid baggy sleeves and billowing skirts.
  • Choose costumes with light or bright colors whenever possible, or trim a darker costume with reflective tape. Consider also having children carry a flashlight to make sure they can see and are visible to drivers.
  • To avoid tripping and falling, choose costumes that fit well and do not drag on the ground.
  • Make sure masks fit securely, have adequate ventilation and provide unobstructed views. Consider applying make-up to children’s faces instead of selecting loose-fitting masks.
  • Swords, knives and other accessories should be made of soft and flexible materials.
  • Take children to familiar neighborhoods and approach only homes with outside lighting.
  • Remind children of everyday safety rules, such as not getting into cars or talking to strangers, watching both ways before crossing streets and crossing with the light when they are trick-or-treating.
  • Adults should always accompany small children to caution them against running into streets and across lawns or driveways. Children should use sidewalks where available.
  • Encourage children to wait until they get home to eat candy so that adults can inspect the goodies.
  • Parents should throw away any treats that are not commercially wrapped or appear to be tampered with.

Attorney General Rutledge also reminds drivers to keep an eye out for children darting out from between parked cars or walking on roadways, curbs or streets. Moving vehicles can be the biggest danger. Motorists should enter and exit driveways and alleys carefully and watch attentively for children in dark clothing at dusk.

For more information and tips to avoid scams and other consumer-related issues, contact the Arkansas Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or consumer@arkansasag.gov or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.

MORE
CONSUMER ALERT: Statewide Prescription Drug Take Back is October 28

CONSUMER ALERT: Statewide Prescription Drug Take Back is October 28

Wed, Oct 18, 2017

LITTLE ROCK – The Arkansas State Crime Laboratory and Medical Examiner’s Office report hundreds of Arkansans died in 2016 from drug overdoses, with nearly 40 percent of those deaths from Pulaski, Sebastian and Washington counties.

Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge is encouraging Arkansans to clean out their medicine cabinets and bring any unused or expired medications to one of the state’s more than 100 Prescription Drug Take Back Day drop-off locations from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 28.

“Oftentimes teens first use prescription painkillers by stealing the pills from a family member’s medicine cabinet,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “The abuse and overdoes statistics are staggering, but cleaning out medicine cabinets and turning the expired and unused medications over to law enforcement during a Drug Take Back event can save lives.”

Rutledge released the following list of medications that will be accepted at these events:

  • Opioids, such as OxyContin
  • Stimulants, such as Adderall
  • Depressants, such as Ativan
  • Other prescription medications
  • Over-the-counter medicines
  • Vitamins
  • Pet medicines
  • Medicated ointments and lotions
  • Inhalers
  • Liquid medicines in glass or leak-proof containers (up to 12 ounces)
  • Medicine samples

Medications may be returned in the original bottle or in any other container for increased privacy and will be properly destroyed by law enforcement officials.

Medicines that are flushed or poured down the drain can end up polluting waters, which could contaminate food and water supplies. Many medicines are not removed by wastewater treatment plants or septic systems. Turning over these medications at Take Back Day events also reduces the risk of accidental poisonings by children, seniors or pets, as well as reduces the risk of drug abuse.

To find event sites and year-round drop-off locations near you, visit ARTakeBack.org. The Attorney General’s office also hosts Drug Take Back events at mobile offices around the state.

Rutledge is partnering on the Prescription Drug Take Back Day with the Arkansas Department of Health, Department of Human Services, Arkansas National Guard, Arkansas Rotary Clubs, Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy, FBI, Office of the State Drug Director, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration and over 130 additional law enforcement and government agencies, community organizations and public health providers.

For more information about consumer-related issues, contact the Arkansas Attorney General’s office at (800) 482-8982 or consumer@ArkansasAG.gov or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.

MORE
Contact Us
Sign Up For Consumer Alerts