Plan a Safe July 4
July 1, 2015
Since 1776, Americans have celebrated Independence Day with festivities ranging from barbecues and parades to concerts and fireworks. These traditions are great opportunities for family and friends to gather and celebrate the holiday. President John Adams once declared that Independence Day should be celebrated with “illuminations from one end of this continent to the other from this time forward forever more.”
It is no surprise that fireworks are now a common custom for many people to celebrate the holiday across the United States.
“Fireworks can be fun if Arkansans remember to follow safety precautions,” said Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “But improper use or malfunctioning fireworks can lead to serious injury and even death.”
The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) reported 11 fatalities and an estimated 10,500 injuries related to fireworks in the U.S. in 2014. Among those injuries, 67 percent occurred in the 30 days surrounding July 4.
Attorney General Rutledge issued today’s consumer alert to remind Arkansans to keep safety and fireworks regulations in mind when celebrating Independence Day.
Arkansas State law, which regulates the sale and use of fireworks, requires sellers to obtain a license in order to sell fireworks legally in the State. Vendors must also follow restrictions, including selling fireworks to anyone under 12 or to anyone who appears intoxicated.
State law only allows exploding fireworks to be sold each year from June 20 to July 10 and from Dec. 10 to Jan. 5. Non-exploding items, such as sparklers and snakes, may be sold throughout the year.
Even if fireworks are legally purchased, they can still be a safety hazard. In 2014, the CPSC reported 1,400 injuries from sparklers.
Attorney General Rutledge encourages consumers to follow these safety recommendations:
- Only buy fireworks from a licensed store, tent or stand.
- Use fireworks outdoors in a clear area.
- Read and follow all warnings and instructions.
- Supervise children at all times and make sure adults light every firework, including sparklers, which can reach 2,000 degrees.
- Make sure other people are out of range before lighting fireworks.
- Never relight a malfunctioning firework. Soak the duds in water and throw them away.
- Do not shoot fireworks from metal or glass containers.
- Keep a bucket of water handy in case of a fire.
It is also important to make sure that fireworks are set off in permissible areas. In some cities, it is illegal to set off or possess fireworks. Fireworks may not be ignited within 600 feet of any church, hospital or public school or within 200 feet of where fireworks are sold or stored.
For more information about fireworks safety, related Arkansas laws and other consumer related issues, call the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office at (800) 482-8982 or visit ArkansasAG.gov or facebook.com/AGLeslieRutledge.