News Releases

    Attorneys General Rutledge and Miller to Co-Chair Newly Formed NAAG Agriculture Committee

    June 24, 2015

    LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge and Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller today announced that they will co-chair the newly formed National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) Agriculture Committee. Following last week’s NAAG Summer Meeting in San Diego, newly elected NAAG President South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley named Rutledge and Miller as co-chairs of the committee.

    “Agriculture is vitally important to my State, adding more than $20 billion to our economy and making it the largest industry in Arkansas,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “It is critically important for attorneys general who share a common goal of advocating for and protecting the agriculture industry and its participants to have a venue to collaborate and share new ideas. I am honored to join my colleague and friend, Attorney General Miller, in this effort to co-chair the new Agriculture Committee, and I appreciate the confidence of President Jackley in both of us to lead this committee.”

    “Agriculture is constantly evolving. As State attorneys general we need to ensure that we work together on legal issues that impact farmers and, more broadly, the industry,” Attorney General Miller said. “I look forward to collaborating with Attorney General Rutledge and other colleagues who share an interest in agriculture.”

    “The State attorneys general have always taken a proactive approach to recognizing issues that directly impact our States. The addition of the Agriculture Committee will allow us to address the 21st century legal challenges facing agriculture and our States common interests. Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge and Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller have been tasked with the important responsibility of serving as co-chairs for this newly formed committee as strong leaders that are widely respected by their colleagues,” stated NAAG President Attorney General Jackley.

    The full membership of the Agriculture Committee will be finalized in the coming weeks.

    In addition to serving as the co-chair of the Agriculture Committee, Rutledge has also received the following committee assignments: Energy and Environment Committee, Federalism/Preemption Committee, Internet Safety/Cyber Privacy and Security Committee, and Veteran Affairs Committee.

    “Along with co-chairing the Agriculture Committee, my other committee assignments will allow me the opportunity to represent the best interests of all Arkansans with my fellow attorneys general,” Rutledge continued. “I strongly believe in growing our energy production with an all-of-the-above approach and protecting our environment, but both must be done methodically and not through heavy handed regulations and orders that go beyond the scope of the federal government. At the same time, we must find new ways to protect our children from a growing cyber threat and safeguard consumers from what seems like a different security breach of personal data every day. Arkansans already know my commitment to our active duty service members and veterans, and I am excited to share what we are doing in Arkansas with my colleagues.”

    NAAG was founded in 1907 to help attorneys general fulfill the responsibilities of their office and to assist in the delivery of high quality legal services to the states and territorial jurisdictions. The Association’s members are the 56 state and territorial attorneys general.

    Contact Us
    Sign Up For Attorney General Alerts