News Releases

    Rutledge Announces Child Safety Poster Contest Winners

    April 16, 2015

    LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge today announced the winners of the 2015 Child Safety Poster Contest, which is sponsored annually by the Attorney General’s Office. This year’s poster theme was Bring Our Missing Children Home. Rutledge released the following statement:

    “I want to congratulate this year’s winners of the Child Safety Poster Contest. There were a record number of participants with 1,171 entries. Students from across the State submitted posters with the winners coming from North Little Rock, Pine Bluff, Cabot, Mena, West Memphis, Little Rock and my own elementary school, Southside in Independence County. These students did an excellent job highlighting this year’s theme, and I am extremely impressed by the talent of our young Arkansans.”

    Attorney General Rutledge also extended her appreciation to the three contest judges, Melinda Faubel with AT&T, Cynthia Hass with the Arkansas Arts Council and Paul Leopoulos with the Thea Foundation. AT&T also helped sponsor the contest, BK Moulding donated supplies to mat each poster and the Thea Foundation is hosting this evening’s reception, where the winning entries will be on display.

    This evening’s reception at the Thea Foundation, located at 401 Main St. in North Little Rock, is open to the public and media. Doors open at 5:30 p.m.

    2015 winners:


    • Carter Brown, Stagecoach Elementary School (Cabot), 1st Place
    • Rhamiya Smith, Faulk Elementary School (West Memphis), 2nd Place
    • Arabella Johnston, Lakewood Elementary School (North Little Rock), 3rd Place

    1st Grade

    • Tevarious Jones, Faulk Elementary School (West Memphis), 1st Place
    • Sasha Walker, Edgewood Elementary School (Pine Bluff), 2nd Place
    • Jacob Acosta, Eastside Elementary School (Cabot), 3rd Place

    2nd Grade

    • Fatima Adame, Faulk Elementary School (West Memphis), 1st Place
    • Rylee Lemley, Southside Elementary School (Independence County), 2nd Place
    • Elizabeth Hardcastle, Southside Elementary School (Independence County), 3rd Place

    3rd Grade

    • Vincent DeLuca, Carver Elementary School (Little Rock), 1st Place
    • Kiylee Hughes, Holly Harshman Elementary School (Mena), 2nd Place
    • Lina Mesa, Stagecoach Elementary School (Cabot), 3rd Place

    4th Grade

    • Mason Smith, Magness Creek Elementary School (Cabot), 1st Place
    • Matiyah Rowland, Carver Elementary School (Little Rock), 2nd Place
    • Jadyn Cook, Lakewood Elementary School (North Little Rock), 3rd Place

    5th Grade

    • Sarah Grenier, Holly Harshman Elementary School (Mena), 1st Place
    • Amanda Booth, Holly Harshman Elementary School (Mena), 2nd Place
    • Isabella Balkenhol, Holly Harshman Elementary School (Mena), 3rd Place

    The winning fifth grade poster, submitted by Sarah Grenier, will be entered into the National Missing Children’s Day Poster Contest, hosted by the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention.

    Information about the 2016 contest will be announced later this year.

    Contact Us