News Releases

    Rutledge Seeks Congressional Action for Autism Services

    August 29, 2019

    LITTLE ROCK - Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge today announced a bipartisan coalition of 47 attorneys general calling upon Congress to authorize the Autism CARES Act of 2019. This legislation provides ongoing federal support for research into autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and services to those affected by these conditions.

    “All Arkansas families deserve the support and resources for their loved ones who are on the autism spectrum,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “More research and services are necessary to address the needs of our rapidly increasing population of Americans on the autism spectrum.”

    A previous version of this legislation is set to expire on Sept. 30, 2019. The Autism CARES Act of 2019 currently exists as H.R. 1058 in the U.S. House of Representatives and S. 427 in the U.S. Senate. Congress began addressing autism in 2000 with the first enactment of the bill. The Autism CARES Act of 2019 will continue Congress’ ongoing mission to ensure that those living with ASD receive the necessary support and research.

    In addition to Arkansas, the letter was co-lead by attorneys general in Indiana and Mississippi and signed on to by Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, the District of Columbia and territories.

    Contact Us