News Releases

    Rutledge Seeks Nominations for Law Enforcement Officers of the Year

    May 15, 2017

    One officer from all 75 counties, five regional and a statewide honoree will be announced at Law Enforcement Summit

    LITTLE ROCK – On National Peace Officers Memorial Day and as part of National Police Week, Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge has opened nominations for Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer of the Year awards to be presented at the 15th annual Arkansas Law Enforcement Summit this fall.

    In addition to the statewide and regional Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer of the Year awards, Rutledge, as the Chief Law Enforcement Officer, will recognize one law enforcement officer from each county as an Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer. These awards recognize college or university, municipal, county or State law enforcement officers who go the extra mile. Nominations will be accepted from police chiefs, county sheriffs, county judges, mayors, prosecutors and other law enforcement leaders from across Arkansas.

    “On this Peace Officers Memorial Day, I am honored to call for nominations for our outstanding officers and to recognize them for their dedication to our communities,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “Sitting at the funeral of Lt. Kevin Mainhart of Yell County, I thought of the dangers our police officers face each day to protect and serve family, friends and strangers alike. May God bless all of our officers in Arkansas and across the country.”

    Registration is open for the annual Law Enforcement Summit, which will be held Tuesday, Oct. 3 at Camp Robinson in North Little Rock. A full schedule and list of speakers for the event will be announced at a later date. To nominate a law enforcement officer, visit

    Contact Us
    Sign Up For Attorney General Alerts