News Releases

    Rutledge’s Northwest Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Open for Enrollment

    January 28, 2020

    LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge today announced the 2020 Northwest Arkansas Law Enforcement Training event will be held on Wednesday, March 11 at Northwest Arkansas Community College. Rutledge annually hosts these free regional trainings throughout the State, where all participants will receive Continuing Legal Education (CLE) and Commission Law Enforcement Standards and Training (CLEST) credits. This year’s event will feature instructors from the Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy and Alcoholic Beverage Control who will discuss the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act.

    “Meeting Arkansans where they are includes providing free and relevant educational resources to our law enforcement officials,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “This training will highlight the many issues law enforcement officials face with the legalization of medicinal marijuana that they can take back to their agencies and better protect all Arkansans.”

    Participant will hear presentations on the enforcement and impacts on law enforcement of Arkansas’s medical marijuana law from Alcohol Beverage Control Agent Chris Boyd and Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy Training Supervisor Clint Scrivner. Assistant Attorney General Jill Irwin will present on Monsters Behind the Machines, which will look into some of the cases that have been investigated by the Attorney General’s Office Special Investigations Division.

    Kevin Metcalf with the Washington County prosecuting attorney’s office will discuss cyber response in missing persons cases. He has assisted in the recovery of numerous missing and exploited children and in the identification and apprehension of sexual predators in multiple states. He also founded the National Child Protection Task Force. He developed a system for working with cellphone-related data in criminal cases, which is offered by Amazon as a mobile device foundational course and a series of instructional books.

    Registration is now open for the March 11 event, which begins at 9 a.m. and ends at 3 p.m. The Attorney General’s Office has applied for 5.25 hours of CLE credit and has been approved for 5.5 hours of CLEST credit. Lunch will be provided.

    Contact Us