News Releases

Rutledge Calls Dishwasher and Laundry Machine Regulations a Worthless Wash

Says, ‘This is nothing more than a load of nonsense from the Biden Administration’

LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge, along with 11 other attorneys general, filed a brief in the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit seeking to protect consumers from the United States Department of Energy (DOE). The case revolves around DOE’s unlawful 2022 regulation called “Energy Conservation Program: Product Classes for Residential Dishwashers, Residential Clothes Washers, and Consumer Clothes Dryers.” The coalition of attorneys general are asking the court to strike down DOE’s 2022 rule that rolls back a Trump administration rule from 2020 that more appropriately governs newer washing machines with shorter wash times and dishwashers with 60-minute or less cycles.

“The Biden Administration continues to create more red tape and burdensome regulations — this time on appliances in nearly every home,” said Attorney General Leslie Rutledge. “This is nothing more than a load of nonsense from the Biden Administration.”

The Energy Policy and Conservation Act (EPCA) allows the DOE to regulate various products’ energy efficiency. The 2020 rules were implemented after consumers complained their appliances ran poorly because of the DOE’s regulations. The machines were running slowly in order to be more “energy efficient.” However, energy was not truly saved as consumers would often have to run their machines twice in order to attain an acceptable cleaning job. Realistically, the purported increase in efficiency was non-existent, and consumers were frustrated. The brief argues that DOE’s rule violates the EPCA, is arbitrary and capricious, fails to adequately explain the change in policy, does not sufficiently consider reliance interests, and does not supply enough rationale for the DOE’s refusal to create specific standards for performance classes. 

Arkansas is joined by the attorneys general of Alabama, Arizona, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.