Crime Victim Advocate of the Year

The Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board awards the Crime Victim Advocate of the Year Award annually during National Crime Victims’ Rights Week.

The award recognizes outstanding advocates in their role of providing service to victims of violent crime and was awarded during the Arkansas Recognition and Victim Rights Ceremony.

The award began in 1999 and was named for its first winner, Larry Dunklin. In 2007, the award was renamed the Crime Victim Advocate of the Year Award.

If you have questions, please contact Lynette Parham at 501.682.1020.

Previous Recipients

1999 – Larry Dunklin

2000 – Betty Lindsey, former executive director of MADD

2001 – Colleen Nick, victim advocate

2002 – Ruth Mixon and Kathy Findley, victim advocates

2003 – Dr. Jerry Jones

2004 – Wanda Cockrell, Prosecutor Coordinator’s Office

2005 – Kermit Channell, Arkansas Crime Lab, and Dr. Sylvia Richards, 2nd Judicial CASA volunteer

2006 – Suzi Barnes and Ashley Martin, 6th Judicial District Victim/Witness Program

2007 – Misty Wilkins, CASA board member, and Vickie Snyder, Serenity Inc. manager

2008 – Rev. Edna Morgan, Southeast Arkansas Area Agency on Aging

2009 – Angela McGraw, violence prevention and intervention coordinator at Safe Places, and Gracie Gonner, founder of Angels of Grace Battered Women’s Shelter

2010 – Kassie Boles, victim witness coordinator, Craighead County, and Beryl “Toss” Worthington, nurse/child advocate at Arkansas Children’s Hospital

2011 – Joyce Raynor, victim advocate at Healing Hearts and Spirits

2012 – Janice Church, chairman, Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board, and Eva Rousey, assistant director at Northwest Arkansas Women’s Shelter

2013 – Teresa Mills, chief executive officer at Peace at Home Family Shelter

2014 – Jen Carlson, sexual assault prevention educator at the University of Arkansas, and Sherri Funk, victims specialist, FBI

2015 – Susan Bradshaw, victim service coordinator, Faulkner County Prosecutor’s Office, and Casey Atwood, program director at Children’s Safety Center

2016 – Charlene James, victim advocate, North Little Rock Police Department, and Gina Knight, deputy prosecuting attorney, 2nd Judicial District

2017 – Pat Blackstone, advocate for domestic violence victims located at the Pulaski County Courthouse, and Elroy Brown, crime victim advocate employed with the city of Blytheville

2018 - Early Mallow, forensic interviewer and advocacy team leader, Children’s Advocacy Center of Benton County, Rogers

2019 - Roberta Sick, program director, University of Arkansas Partners for Inclusive Communities, Little Rock, and Cheryl Jefferson, victim witness coordinator – 10th Judicial District, Monticello

Contact Us