
Arkansas Crime Victims  
Reparations Program

The Arkansas Crime 
Victims Reparations 
Program, administered 
by the Office of the 
Attorney General on 
behalf of the Crime 
Victims Reparations 
Board, provides financial 
compensation to victims 

who have suffered personal injury or death as the result of 
violent crime.  
Eligible victims may qualify for up to $10,000 for medical 
care, counseling, lost wages, funeral expenses, crime scene 
clean up and loss of support for dependents of deceased 
victims. Victims suffering catastrophic injuries may qualify 
for up to $25,000. 

Additionally, the Sexual Assault Reimbursement Program 
allows evidence to be collected after a sexual assault has 
been committed without the victim bearing the burden 
of the expense, and it pays for ambulance services and 
medical or legal examinations.

These programs are funded by fees collected from criminal 
offenders and a federal grant through the Victims of Crime 
Act, administered by the U.S. Department of Justice.

Eligibility to Apply
Ark. Code Ann. §§16-90-701-719 (West 2015)

•   Victim of a violent crime
•   Minor child of eligible victim
•   Spouse, parent, sibling and grandparent of eligible victim 
•   Non-immediate family member who resided in the 

same household as a deceased victim
•   Individual who discovers a homicide victim’s body
•   Person injured by an act of terrorism outside the  

United States
•   An Arkansas resident victimized in another state that 

does not have a compensation program



Criteria to Receive Compensation
•   Incident occurred since July 1, 1988, in Arkansas and 

reported to authorities within 72 hours (minors excluded)
•   Application filed within one year of incident
•   Injury or death as a result of a criminal act
•   Victim/claimant cooperated with investigation  

and/or prosecution
•   Victim’s expenses are not covered by a collateral source
•   Victim/claimant has no criminally injurious felony 

conviction
•   Victim’s conduct did not contribute to incident
•   Victim did not engage in illegal activity 
•   Victim was not incarcerated at time of the incident
•   Injuries from motor vehicle use must involve intent to 

inflict harm, hit and run, or violate Omnibus DWI Act
 
Know Your Rights as a Victim
Ark. Code Ann. §§16-90-1101-1115 (West 2015)

Crime victims have the right to:
•   Be present at any proceeding where the defendant has  

a right to be present
•   Submit victim impact statements
•   Basic privacy
•   Be informed
 
Ensure your rights are protected by:
•   Designating someone to receive information about the 

criminal matter 
•   Informing the proper authorities of your representative’s 

name and contact information
•   Maintaining all related written correspondence 
•   Cooperating with the prosecution

If you think you may be eligible for assistance, apply by 
contacting the Arkansas Attorney General’s Office. 
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