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Understanding Arkansas’s Price Gouging Law

Act 376 of 1997 prohibits businesses and individuals from price gouging during a
state of emergency. The law prohibits businesses and individuals from charging more
than 10 percent above the pre-emergency price of goods or services. The scope of the
law is broad and is intended to cover anything that may be needed in the event of a
state of emergency. Examples of items and services covered by the law include, but
are not limited to, cleaning and disinfecting products, personal protective equipment,
medicine and medical supplies, goods used for personal care, food, water and other
items in short supply.

The price gouging law is triggered whenever a state of emergency is declared by
federal, state, or local governments. The ban on price gouging remains in effect for at
least 30 days and can be extended another 30 days by the local governing body if
necessary to protect the lives, property, or welfare of the citizens.

While the law sets a general 10 percent cap on price increases during an emergency,
businesses may lawfully charge a higher price if they can establish that the higher
price is directly attributable to additional costs incurred by the retailer from its
supplier or as the result of additional costs for labor or materials used to provide the
goods or service. In such a limited situation, the business may charge no more than
10 percent above the total of the cost to the business, plus the markup which would
customarily be applied by the business for that good or service in the normal course
of business.

The law applies to both retail and wholesale prices. Manufacturers and distributors
cannot engage in price gouging to hospitals, pharmacies and medical providers or to
retail businesses.

A violation of Act 376 is a violation of the Deceptive Trade Practices Act. The Attorney
General can seek injunctive relief, restitution to consumers, costs, attorneys’ fees, and
civil penalties up to $10,000 per violation. Criminal sanctions may also apply to
violators.

For more information and to report price gouging violations go to:
ArkansasAG.gov/COVID-19
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