Human Trafficking

The Human Trafficking Act of 2013 called for the Attorney General to establish the task force to address every aspect of human trafficking in the state, including the forced labor trafficking and sex trafficking of U.S. citizens and foreign nationals.

The task force developed a state plan to prevent trafficking, work to improve information sharing among governmental and non-governmental organizations that deal with the issue, raise public awareness of human trafficking and create a training curriculum for law enforcement officials.

The final report of the State Task Force for the Prevention of Human Trafficking was presented to the General Assembly in August 2014.

Members of the Attorney General’s State Task Force for the Prevention of Human Trafficking included:

  • Will Jones, Assistant Attorney General, co-chair
  • Reagan Stanford, Catholic Charities of Arkansas, co-chair
  • Louise Allison, Executive Director of Partners Against Trafficking Humans
  • Ronnie Baldwin, Executive Director of the Arkansas Sheriffs Association
  • Capt. Jeff Basancon, Benton Police Department
  • Sheriff Marty Boyd, Craighead County Sheriff
  • Capt. Steven Coppinger, Assistant Division Commander of the Arkansas Fusion Center
  • Lamar Davis, Deputy Chief of Staff for the Arkansas Governor’s Office
  • Conner Eldridge, U.S. Attorney for the Western District of Arkansas
  • Dr. Karen Farst, Arkansas Children’s House
  • Daniel K. Faulkner, Arkansas Department of Labor
  • Sgt. Allen Hamby, Little Rock Police Department
  • Chief Bob Harrison, Texarkana Police Department
  • Kandi Hause, Little Rock Police Department
  • Sheriff Doc Holladay, Pulaski County Sheriff
  • Det. Jennifer Hurd, Little Rock Police Department
  • Charlene James, North Little Rock Police Department
  • Stephanie Jira, Little Rock Regional Director of the Not For Sale Campaign
  • Ken Jones, Director of the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training
  • Josh Kaplan, U.S. Marshals Service
  • Avis Lane, Director of the Attorney General’s Community Relations Division
  • Brian T. Marr, Special Agent-in-Charge, U.S. Secret Service Little Rock Office
  • Dr. Cheryl P. May, Director of the Criminal Justice Institute
  • Marc McCune, 21st Judicial District Prosecuting Attorney
  • Angela McGraw, Executive Director of Women and Children First Arkansas
  • Bob McMahan, Arkansas Prosecutor Coordinator
  • Nicholas Nelson, Resident Agent-in-Charge, Immigration & Customs Enforcement, Little Rock
  • Gigi Peters, Executive Director of the UALR MidSOUTH Center
  • Lt. Jim Potter, Pulaski County Sheriff’s Office
  • Joyce Raynor, Executive Director of the Center for Healing Hearts and Spirits
  • Montie Sims, President of the Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Gerald Spurgers, Supervisory Special Agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation-Little Rock
  • Dr. Nathaniel Smith, Director of the Arkansas Department of Health
  • Christopher Thyer, U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Arkansas
  • David M. Tusson, Resident Agent-in-Charge, U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security, Little Rock
  • Edgardo Briones Velazquez, Deputy Consul of the Mexican Consulate of Little Rock
  • Mark White, Arkansas Department of Human Services
  • Jay Winters, Director of the Arkansas Crime Information Center
  • Col. Stan Witt, Director of the Arkansas State Police
  • Lisette Yang, Children’s Protection Center